SAD, INLD stitch alliance for Haryana elections

first_imgDays after severing ties with the BJP in Haryana, the Shiromani Akali Dal on Wednesday announced to contest the State Assembly polls in alliance with the Indian National Lok Dal.The SAD, which is the part of the ruling NDA at the Centre, had snapped ties with the BJP in the State after its lone MLA from Kalanwali Balkaur Singh switched sides.SYL canal issue The SAD had contested the 2014 Assembly elections in the State in alliance with the INLD. Their alliance had come to an end in 2017 over the Sutlej-Yamuna Link canal issue. On Thursday, Akali candidates will file their nomination papers from Kalanwali, Ratia and Guhla Cheeka. The remaining seats, which would be contested jointly with the INLD, would be declared on October 3, said SAD vice-president Daljit Singh Cheema here on Wednesday evening. He, however, refused to tell on how many seats the SAD will be fielding its candidates. Nomination papers In a statement here, SAD chief Sukhbir Singh Badal said party patron Parkash Singh Badal and INLD chief Om Prakash Chautala would accompany Ratia and Kalanwali candidates for the filing of nomination papers. Rajinder Singh Desujodha, who defected to the SAD from the BJP on Tuesday, will file his nomination papers for the Kalanwali seat while Kulwinder Singh Kunal will submit papers for the Ratia Assembly seat. Ram Kumar Revarh Jagir would be the SAD-INLD candidate from Guhla Cheeka, said Mr. Cheema. Meanwhile, the INLD declared its first list of 64 candidates for the Haryana Assembly elections, slated for October 21.The party’s election committee met in New Delhi under the chairmanship of its national president Om Prakash Chautala and decided on the names.12 women in INLD list In its first list, the party has fielded 12 women candidates. Senior party leader Abhay Singh Chautala will contest from Ellenabad Assembly constituency.Party’s State unit chief B.D. Dhalia said the INLD has taken care to give representation to various sections of society and the candidates were decided accordingly.While INLD has fielded former MLA Dilbagh Singh from Yamunanagar, its former MLA Sita Ram is in the fray from Dabwali seat, where Abhay’s sister-in-law and Jannayak Janta Party’s Naina Chautala is the sitting legislator.On September 25, O.P. Chautala had announced that the party would give 33% reservation to women in the distribution of tickets. The INLD saw a split in 2018 after there was a bitter power struggle between the two brothers — Ajay Chautala and Abhay Chautala. (With PTI inputs)last_img